The Ordained Barista
Ordained: To invest with ministerial or priestly authority; confer holy orders on. Barista: a preparer or server in a coffee bar.

What if Starbucks marketed like the church?

Hey Everyone,

Well I’m back from a small blogging break.  Incase you are wondering where I have been, my editor and I have been concentrating on polishing the first 5 chapters of Tales of The Ordained Barista and my book proposal.  On Tuesday I will be sending both out to a literary agent who wanted to see my work. It’s a long shot, to say the least, but it has been a ton of fun and I have learned a lot! Seriously!

I also wanted to mention that the type of blog I will be posting in the future will be a little different.  I will try to post more often (Thank you to everyone who keeps on asking me why I don’t post more often) and the blogs will be shorter.  My topics will, I hope, concentrate on being a follower of Jesus and Coffee/Coffeehouses. Which is actually cheating because there is no topic that you can’t talk about in a coffeehouse.  You should have heard the conversation that the two ladies in front of me were having about Tiger Woods yesterday in line.  Anyway, each post is meant to do two things in a short period of time. 1. encourage and 2. challenge. Thank you to everyone who comments and already gets an RSS feed of my blog.  I want to encourage you if don’t get my blog directly in your Google Reader, do it! And, I love hearing comments and feedback. So… away we go!

I saw this video a few months ago and it made me laugh coffee out of my nose! My favorite line during the video is “Java-lujah.” Classic. I would love to know what you think is the most accurate section of satire in this video is. Has anyone had a “new person” church experience like this? What’s the worst church experience you have ever had?

One Response to “What if Starbucks marketed like the church?”

  1. Barry,

    Glad you got back into the saddle and started posting again. Your first post back was great as I loved the video. Very funny and scary at the same time. I love the locked door with the “greeter” just hanging out talking to his friend. I have seen that so many times and sadly most of those times at my own church.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

